East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Wedge Tail Eagle on Palmers Island

I had been taking some very boring shots of the river at Palmers Island this afternoon and was heading home without anything decent to blip when I spotted this fellow on the side of the dirt track I was driving along. I am almost certain (from looking at my bird book) that he is a Wedge -tailed Eagle and was one big bird. You may notice (look away if squeamish) that he is feasting on a kangaroo carcass - I'd say it had been hit by a car and the carcass has been pulled off the road for safety. The background is a field of sugarcane. Very exciting as I've never seen one of these birds so close up - by the time I changed lenses etc I didn't have much time (he was watching me like a hawk:) and he soon took off so I couldn't get any closer unfortunately. But hey it was great!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.