Down At The Ferry Boat Inn

My sister from France and her family have been staying at The Ferry Boat Inn in North Fambridge. I arrived early to take them to Stansted.

It was a beautiful morning, I drove past the inn down to the river hoping to see the red deer that Sally had told me about. No sign of them but the saltings looked gorgeous in the sunshine. The little isolated white hut is Port Moor Cottage, a felt-roofed chalet with a chemical WC that can only be reached by boat or by foot, tide permitting. It was recently on sale for £125,000.

I also photographed Jeff's Cottage. He was the ferry man until 1955. The people of North Fambridge didn't want the ferry reinstated or a bridge built. They were keen to distance themselves from Southend. :)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.