Journey Through Time

By Sue

Picasa Mellow Yellow

A bit of artistic expression on the yellow gerbera daisy.  Today is very hot.  The warmest it's ever gotten in Portland is about 108, and I remember when it got to that, years ago, when our son was a little guy.  Today the official high, so far anyway, is 102.  Our temperatures hit their highest mark in the late afternoon, so it's possible it might go up a degree before it's all said and done.  It is nearly 5 p.m., so it might just stay at 102.  All I know is that when I went to get the mail, it felt like 110 on the sidewalk.  EDIT:  103!!   And a lot of the protestors gave up...the heat did them in. 

Too bad we don't live closer to where our son used to live, in the St. John's area.   Greenpeace protestors have shown up to bring attention to a ship that is in town for repairs and to try to stop it from going to the Arctic and work on the Shell Oil project to find and drill for oil.  I know these people are adamant in their beliefs, and they probably are right in opposing this, but I always wonder if they think the captain of the ship is going to say, "Oh, gosh, these guys are hanging from the St. John's Bridge, so, wow...not going to the Arctic!!"   It's always so much more complicated than that, but protesting is our right and how they can do that in this heat is beyond me.  My first thought was...wow, that'd make a great Blip!!  

The one I was hoping for hasn't happened yet.  Nobody has cut down any trees.  Maybe it's too hot.

Keep cool or warm, as the case may be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.