In My World

By JoanneInOz

Siblings ~ Blue Faced Honeyeaters

During the summer months towards the end of last year, a new breed of bird began visiting our garden, and have become regulars, along with the magpies and kookaburras, ever since.

These three little fellows, who I think must be siblings, are less than six months old.

The yellowish colouring above their eyes will become a bright blue colour by the time they are around 16 months of age.

Every morning, a huge family of honeyeaters call in for breakfast. The older birds, with the bright blue eyes, are far more timid than their offspring. Perhaps the babies have become used to me feeding them, as they land on the clothesline while I'm hanging out the washing, and quite happily peck at their food as I am putting it out for them, while their parents wait until I'm safely back indoors.

Another photo I took today, which did not make it to blip (for obvious reasons) was Miss Tibbs, crouched down, ears pinned back, and eyeing off my baby birds!

She rarely goes near the birds, and sometimes even loves up to my legs while I'm feeding them! They don't seem bothered by her either, so I don't know what today's performance was all about!

Do you think she thinks she's a cat??!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.