kwchas

By kwchas

Public Baths

Chester's Victorian Baths have been closed for the last two years while they undergo a £2.5 million refurbishment but they are due to reopen in September. 

The 114 year old Grade 2 listed building is one of those buildings you drive past without paying it much attention but there are some interesting architectural details. I think the Public Baths mosaic featured here looks terrific but it is not very visible from the road and can best be seen from Grosvenor Park opposite. There are also some impressive chimney stacks which I might feature on another occasion.

There are two pools inside, the Atlantic and Pacific, and I remember going here from school as a child. I've never been a swimmer and my best memory is that they used to serve chicken soup from the vending machine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.