Welcoming August

Dear Diary,

A new month and the season is beginning to show the first signs of turning.  In Celtic tradition, August 1st is the first day of autumn and around here at least I can feel it.  This morning is crisp and cool and beautiful.  A far cry from earlier in the week when we could hardly breathe for the heat and humidity.

The first grasshoppers and locust have arrived (see my extra shot today), the golden rod is blooming and a tree in the village is starting to turn red/orange.  Yes, I can see the changes beginning although there is plenty of summer left.

Last night was a "Blue Moon", the second full moon in the month of July.  It lit up the back yard almost like daylight; I think the turkeys could have grazed for grasshoppers in the field by its light easily! 

I am starting my winter prep next week by filling up the propane tank which is primarily for my emergency generator.  It is the first of many things I have to do to get ready for what will surely come in a few months.  I won't be like the grasshopper in Aesop's fable of the Grasshopper and the Ant and fiddle the summer away.  There is work to be done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.