Morning Visitors

Dear Diary,

Two mama turkeys and their six young ones visit my back yard most mornings and then again in the late afternoon to "graze".  It is that time of year when the grasshoppers appear and I am sure that is what they are feasting on.  It is unusual for the field grass to be so green in mid-summer.  It has usually begun its browning phase by now but we have had ample rain so it is still lush and in need of another mow.

I have been eating peppers, tomatoes and green beans from my little greenhouse garden but I doubt I will do it next year.  It was fun to try it once but it ties me down too much.  This is the time of year that I want to be visiting the coast or the lakes.

This is also the time of year when my mind would begin to think of the new school year...are my supplies in?  Will my classes be huge again?  But this September will begin the sixth year of my retirement and those thoughts never cross my mind anymore.  Now, it is finalizing my family chronicle that occupies my time.

Looking back and forward in so many ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.