The Scoreboard

Dear Diary,

By day Emerson is a mild mannered, laid back kitty but at night he transforms himself into Catman - avenger of mice This is his scoreboard.  My cellar door is painted with chalk board paint and since June of 2013 I have been keeping a tally of his "scores".  It's a clear shutout.

In old farmhouse like this, built in 1851, with an attached barn and dirt cellar it is nearly impossible to keep out a mouse, especially in the fall when they are looking for winter digs.  Emerson is my border patrol.  I praise him when he is successful but I just wish he didn't feel the need to bring them up to the bedroom to present them to me personally!  I am not the least bit squeamish but I draw the line at a mouse on the bed!

Aw, the joys of rural life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.