Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Progeny of P-Hummie

A tiny chip off the ol' block - feisty, temperamental, and doesn't play well with others...and, as you can clearly see, he's blowing a little raspberry at me!   I have a feeder tucked into the big phlox patch in my garden which gives me some nice backgrounds when I can catch the hummers coming and going, as here.  I have three colors of phlox - light pink, dark pink and white, making a lovely pastel palette.  Interesting, the hummers don't show any interest in nectaring from these flowers, although the bees and clearwing moths love them. Something for everyone, I guess.  

By the way, I know this little guy is a juvenile male because he's starting to show some darker feathers on his throat and, although you can't see it in this shot, he's already got his first red feather!

Speaking of flowers and polinators ... two different species of swallowtails are drifting around the garden now - big, beautiful creatures.  I also caught a quick glimpse of a monarch this morning although it didn't stay around.  I posted two other pics from this morning on Flickr, if you'd care to have a look...A pair of swallowtails - two different species and a trash-talking juvenile female hummer

Hubs is off fishing with our neighbor - I'm sure they'll come home with big stories, to make up for the lack of fish.  Ha!  Tonight, our neighbors will come over and we'll grill burgers on the deck - always a good time seeing them.  As for me, a little cleaning and a bit of food prep and then maybe a nap.  It's hot again today which kind of sucks the energy out of me.  

Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.