The Pier, New Brighton Beach

Today's the day ......................... to turn the page

I've never been to the Pier at New Brighton Beach near Christchurch in New Zealand, but I recognised it immediately when I turned to the August page on my calendar this morning.

Flying went there recently with her Mum, walkingS - and it was Mrs F (as I call her) that sent me the calendar last Christmas.  I've been enjoying having it on the wall next to my laptop - although there's something a bit odd (but nevertheless intriguing) about having a picture of lots people going up in the ski-lift over the snow of the Mt Hutt Skifield in the month of July!  You might also recognise the familiar face of Tussock of Tussocktales - also on the wall near my desk.  This is a very precious, limited edition, self portrait of Tussock which she kindly sent to me some time ago.

Both of the above are very happy reminders of our trip to New Zealand a couple of years ago.  It has become a bit of a routine in this house to catch up with all you Kiwi blippers first thing in the morning - as you have already put in a day's work and are thinking about going off to bed as we get up.  It's probably fair to say that if it hadn't been for blipfoto, we might never have gone to New Zealand.  We're SO glad we did.  We're hoping that we'll get to see rainie when she comes across to these parts next year. 

I am sure that the links will go on and on ......................... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.