LL Cool Jim

By LLCoolJim

We only bleedin won!

Riff-Raff was raging!

This was taken pre-show in the calm before the audience arrived. They must've thought it was in the bag.

Tonight we won Leith's Got Talent's Hallowe'en show.

A week ago I was asked (forced, using powers of persuasion on my guilty conscience) to appear as one of six zombies in the Michael Jackson Thriller routine.

Davie: "Please mate - we need bodies to do the Thriller dance"

Me: "No danger"

Davie: "Look, my Dad and all that are doing the Rocky Horror Timewarp. They've got others doing the Monster Mash too but they need at least another act. C'mon mate - it's for a good cause"

Me: "I cannae mate. I havnae the time or energy this week. I'm choked with a cold too."

Davie: "Please. I wouldnae ask but others have let me down. And they need a good show. The wee laddie needs us."

Grrrr....

Me: "Awrite. What do I need to do?"




I swear, the rest of the week has been like The Full Monty without the stripping. Tears, laughter, arguments - no offside rule but dance moves were remembered with counts of 4 and 8 and chants like "and swim and swim" or "and jump 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 and snap and bounce and snap and bounce and come together clap 2 3 4 5 6 7 8" or "and cha cha cha-cha-cha, cha cha cha-cha-cha"

We were a last minute addition to the show. We had to think of something to perform that was Hallowe'en-esque. The others were well rehearsed and polished but we totally stole the show. Felt a bit guilty about that too to be honest. We weren't great but when you have Thriller against the Timewarp there's only gonna be one winner. The judges were Cheryl, Sharon, Simon, Louis and Dannii (all played by men - Sharon had his legs shaved in the pub raising another £300 in the process).

The whole night was a great night. 250 rocked the Hibs Club in Leith to its foundations and raised approx £6,000 for wee Adam who has an inoperable illness and lots of miserable treatment most of the time. The intention was to get enough dough to take him to Lapland with all of his family - I think we got enough to spoil him good and proper.


Watch here and tell me the roar at the end doesn't send the tingles! (I just stuck my camera on Simon Cowell's table and let it roll - not the best angle.)
After this it went to a tie-break between us and the Rocky Horror bunch. We both had to go again. We caused a riot again. When they finally gave in and awarded us the win we had to do it yet again but got the whole place on the dancefloor - what a laugh, what a night!

Chamone!


Different angle 1.

Different angle 2.

(An official dvd was made by a decent cameraman to make extra dough so if I can edit that I'll post soon for better sound and vision.)


And a big thanks to my sponsors too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.