Au Revoir Kio (さようならKB)

We went with Andrew to pick up his hire car then waved goodbye to them as they took off for the wilds of Wales to see his mother. I had a message that he had arrived safely at around 5pm.

It was sad to see them off, though they will be back in ten days for another short stay prior to heading off to the Big Smoke (do they still call it that?). The house seems quiet and a little emptier without them.

As is our habit we took off for town this afternoon to have a coffee in Nero. I walked down Greenhill Street, topic for my #onestreet project, and took a few pics, not having my granddaughter to pose for me. This is The Stratford Alehouse, as it says, a micropub. The place is a haven for serious real ale drinkers having different ales available straight from the barrel. Roz and I went in there shortly after it first opened, it's an interesting place, just chairs and tables with non of the 'normal' pub trimmings, a bit like going to a beer festival, without the music. I'm surprised the place has lasted as long as it has. Only open during the day, closing at eight, it seems to have a regular clientele which doesn't include 'the youth'. Long may it prosper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.