Bash the Bunnies

Well to be honest compare the lenses.
 
Mrs W’s main burpday pressy was a nice new Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM  lens.  As ever yours truly inherits Mrs W’s cast-offs so I now have her old Sigma 170-500mm zoom which she was never that happy with the crispness of the photos.  Well it does me .  .  .
 
These two shots compare the lenses, both at max focal length and at near enough the same distance.  The sigma shot was taken through the branches of the nearest tree (makes a nice frame), the Canon just to one side.  Both images have been cropped exactly the same to make the composition.  If you compare these to Mrs W’s similar shot taken the day before note she has the 5D with a full frame sensor, and my 7D has a cropped sensor.  Nb, the exif shows the data from the Canon.
 
The new Canon is on the left, the Sigma on the right.  Quite a difference to say the least, but I know my place .  .  .

Ps - I will get to commenting very soon - I hope .  . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.