Nodding Greenhood Orchid

I took Mish for a long walk in the Belair NP this afternoon - I was looking for orchids and I found this one which I don't believe I've seen before.  It's a Nodding Greenhood (Pterostylis nutans).

As with all terrestrial orchids in this country it is considered endangered, and there are stiff penalties if you are caught picking them, digging them up, or otherwise disturbing them.  Most people don't realise that all our orchids form a symbiotic relationship with a specific soil fungus, and they are impossible to cultivate.  So it would be a waste of effort trying to grown them on anyway.

Luckily there is no penalty for photographing them.

Anyway it was a very long walk, and Mish was wiped out by the time we got home.

Such tiny delicate things,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.