Sunrise at the Poolburn Dam, Central Otago

My last day in the Maniototo started early, but boy was it worth it.

At the stunning setting of the Poolburn Dam, high in the hills above the basin, we were treated to a glorious sunrise of pinks, yellows and oranges, all reflecting on the partly frozen lake surface.

Our group for today (Gingernan, Optomist and Spikes2013) have all chosen blips from around the area near the reservoir, so it's fitting that I join them with my blip.

It was a tough choice though; before leaving we shot at a derelict homestead and on my way home I photographed some cattle just before I left the Maniototo through the Pigroot, stopped at Shag Point to photograph some dozing seals amongst the crashing waves (using a 10-stop neutral density filter, to soften the pounding surf - it's a good seals don't move much for long exposures!) and the raging waters of the mighty Waitaki by the bridge over SH1.

Check out the extras for the dozing New Zealand fur seal. For a derelict shot, check out here on Facebook

All in all, it's been a superb weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.