WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Ondulation

Once you start looking, there are art exhibitions all over the place. Today, the parcours artistique was in the très chic village of Peyriac de Mer. This seemed like a good plan because  you can get there avoiding busy major roads completely. I whizzed down the autoroute des Corbières, the D611, which winds directly through the massif of the Corbières without really passing through anywhere, and is pretty much only used by locals, so you can bowl along admiring the scenery with the only hazard the occasional camper van.

Peyriac is a very charming village overlooking a lagoon, and the exhibition is also a chance to nose around people's houses and gardens. There were over thirty exhibitors scattered through the village, so it took a while to see everything. I was glad I saw Manon Damiens' sculptures early on, before my eyes and brain had ceased to process visual stimuli. I loved them: delicate, trembling constructions of precious metals on hair-thin wires, so that the slightest breath of wind set them trembling. I spent ages admiring them from different angles; in a sunny garden, their shadows added an extra dimension. There are more in the extras -- I'm afraid I didn't really do them justice in my photos, but you can look at her website. If I had 650 euros to spare, I would have walked off with this one.

I was back in time to collect S from his Pyrenean endeavours, and then we were forced to have yet another aperitif with les Amis de la Contra Escarpa -- life is hard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.