Blue Agave

I have photographed his giant blue agave before,  greeting us as we are coming up our steep driveway. I love it because it is sculptural, enormous (12-14 feet high), drought tolerant, rodent, deer and insect resistant and requires no care. In fact, it defends itself very successfully with sharp thorns along each of its elegant spikes. One would have to be crazy to breech those defenses!

I went to not one but two nurseries with Dana today, and we had a pleasant time wandering amongst the blooms without any male harassment along the lines of , "where are you going to put that?" or "can we go now?" I bought things to replenish my two succulent pots and planted two pots next to the hot tub with purple and red Cuphea "Tiny Mice".

We're off to dinner at Dana's. We will be minus Peter, who is at running camp, as in cross country, at Lake Tahoe. I suspect Jim will be the chef as Dana is no doubt toiling away in her front garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.