Blue Agave

I got a note from Owen's mother this morning reminding me that Owen's birthday is tomorrow…oops.

Although I am trying to take Marjorie's advice and "let things surface", I find myself seeking explanations for lost items and forgotten and misplaced dates all the same. I feel that enough time has elapsed that I can no longer blame everything on moving house. Sometimes items are hidden in plain sight, like my sunglasses, which turn up on top of my head. Sometimes I find my keys in the fridge, or my phone between the couch cushions (if only I could just "call" all my lost items like I can my phone and my car.) I have given up on finding my other pair of sunglasses and a favorite pair of earrings. I think the disappearances have something do do with being on "autopilot",  or having too much on my mind. Certainly not old age...

Thanks to Andy and Gordon at Blipcentral, I have sorted out the Wildwood problem. My Journal name will remain Berkeley Blipper, but my display name is now Wildwood. There was a reason for doing it this way, but I've forgotten what it was...

Having spent the morning on these musings, I decided to go out in front and take some pictures of the blue agave growing in front of the house. We have a lot of agaves, which thrive in our rocky soil, but I particularly like this one which is over six feet tall. I love the imprint of the leaves on the taller leaves behind them. Tequila is made from the sap found in the heart of this plant. Like the yucca, once it flowers, the plant dies, but it is not clear when it flowers. There must be a reason why it is sometimes called a "century plant".

The red tipped plants in the background are Leucodendron "Spitfire" which also thrive in our garden. Behind the fence we leave the desert for the tropics. The bamboo planted there can be seen on the left hand side of the shot. There is also Cana, Philodendron, Passiflora (which is trying to grow into our bedroom) Bird of Paradise and even a banana plant. I love all these little "ecosystems" around our house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.