A Lost Day

I  woke up this morning feeling dizzy and with a whacking headache. Apparently drinking that glass of wine in contravention of doctor's orders was not a good idea. I was too embarrassed when she called this afternoon to see how I was doing to mention that I had been asleep most of the day…I was also rendered almost speechless by the fact that she called at all. The standard of practice has a much lower bar than it used  to, and I often feel that once your'e out their door, they never give you another thought. She'll probably get over it, she's young.

Our Blue Apron meals have started arriving…three of them every Wednesday.  The only problem I have with them is that we have to get organized in order to finish them all before the next lot arrives! For some reason that reminds me of The New Yorker magazine which comes once a week and cannot possibly be read before the next one arrives. When the unread pile begins to topple over, my anxiety level rises until I finally cancel the subscription for awhile until I get caught up. I suppose that would work with Blue Apron too...


Our 'birdbath' water feature near the front porch stopped running the other day. it had gotten down to a pathetic trickle when OilMan finally decided he was going to have to try to fix it. He had called David, but didn't hear from him, and the birds were beginning to walk around the edge of the dry rock looking quite forlorn. For two days a hose, several buckets and a bag of tools, its contents scattered about, graced the front steps. OilMan was most pleased with himself when he successfully got it running again, and the birds are enjoying their baths once again. I told him that David probably figures if he ignores his pleas for help long enough, he'll probably manage to figure it out for himself. Not a bad strategy for an engineer turned farmer and handyman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.