angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

things don't always turn out as planned

...after yesterday evening's blue sky and warm sunshine, it was a tad disappointing to wake up to another grey day that threatened rain. Nonetheless, I had it in mind to capture a specific image for today's blip, so we set off this afternoon, despite the increasingly darkening clouds overhead, for a walk on Black Heath, near Studland. This area of wet heathland is rich in rare flora and fauna and affords fantastic views across Poole Harbour.

Unfortunately, there wasn't much wildlife in evidence today (other than David Cameron on the news) so I was delighted to find this broad-bodied chaser Libellula depressa at one of the many small ponds. I was waiting for it to adopt a more photograph friendly pose but, as the rain started to fall, I felt lucky to get a shot at all.

This was actually intended as my reserve image and is a heavy crop because I only had a standard lens today in preparation for a landscape image! By the time I took the image I was aiming for, the rain was falling heavily so I didn't use it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.