angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

sun due

...when we watched the news and weather forecast last night, they predicted a wet day of light showers for this morning and heavy showers for this afternoon. Consequently, we were delighted to wake up to a blue sky and sunshine. The only fly in the ointment was the return of the strong wind that we had last weekend.

So, after breakfast, we headed back to Godlingston Heath with the intention of capturing the image I was after yesterday. Once again, I was lazy and only took my standard lens, which was fine in the sense that I got the shot I was after, but a little bit stupid because there were several downy emerald dragonflies (Cordulia aenea) that were not so much flying as being blown around the heath!

To our delight and surprise, the lovely weather continued into the afternoon, so we went back again after lunch and, this time, I was armed with my macro lens. Needless to say, now that I had the right tool for the job, there was not a dragonfly in sight. I consoled myself by accepting that there was too much wind to have got a shot anyway, plus we have until mid-July to keep trying.

Anyway, the bog asphodel and sundew were so beautiful that I decided to reject this morning's image and blip this detail of the round-leaved sundew Drosera rotundifolia instead...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.