Road trip

I was sorting the van this morning for a much needed adventure. This time a slightly different one.

In 2001, I headed off on a 17-day cycle trip, in between jobs. It was leisurely with B&Bs, fluffy towels and coffee shops but not without adventure.  I was taking the opportunity of no job to have a mini sabbatical. Little did I know then that it would send me on my journey into teaching. 

Sitting on my bike, I started questioning what my job was all about, whether it was worth the time I put into it for the stress and lack of day-to-day time and whether I should continue to pursue my marketing career.

The answer was a simple no. 

And when I got home, I set to and did something else. Never to look back.

That was the last time I was on these roads and this particular stretch is locked in my memory for the miles and miles of cabbage fields you could see.

And boredom, it's true! But, I'm back in the hope of doing 100 miles tomorrow in the flattest place I know.  A little challenge that Rich began but it has been niggling away in my little head too. 

Time will tell. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.