Hydraulic coffee

100.8 flat miles! 

I’ve discovered since arriving home that it’s almost 14 years to the day, Saturday 4th August 2001, that I cycled this stretch and stopped in Holbeach overnight before continuing my journey down to Harwich.  I had accurately remembered the cabbages, which had not changed, but I did spot a little variety with the occasional fields of corn and squash.  The marsh harrier gliding over the road in front of me on the way home more than made up for the similarity in surroundings.  

Today, there was a stronger headwind than I’d expected for the first 50 which took 4 1/4 hours. After arriving too early for the pub to be open in Holbeach, I sunbathed in the pub garden and chatted to Vic here.  He was a lovely man who I discovered worked on the tractors on the local rivers.

Planning the route using Bradley’s essential Tip 1, I took 3 1/2 hours to do the same 50 home. I couldn't believe the difference the breeze on your butt made. Although maybe the two hydraulic coffees I had helped!

I actually feel pretty good despite flagging in the heat on the last 14 miles. I've stopped in at mum and dad's to say hello but, as usual, got ribbed for coming home for tea, a hot shower and a comfy bed! (Well, there was that too ;-) )

I had a quick catchup on blip before bed only to discover friendly fellow blipper, RuralDave had so kindly posted a photo of mine from the Birmingham exhibition which I didn't get to see any of in Leeds. There are so many genuinely lovely people here on Blip. And Dave, I can't thank you enough for topping off my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.