Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Yellow dung fly - Scathophaga stercoraria

This is a very common and yet colourful visitor. I have met lots of people that say that they bite, but I could not find any accredited reading to confirm this, also I have been amongst this insect for the last six weeks and have not been bitten.

This is the male of the species and can be found hanging around flower heads feeding on pollen. It also is an accomplished hunter and will tackle flies larger than itself. I have witnessed and photographed one of these yellow flies wrestling with a large bluebottle type fly. I would have posted the image, but way too under exposed.

The females hang around the cow dung, feeding and laying eggs. The males can be found there also, using the dung to ambush other insect feeders.

Quite an easy insect to get close to and serves as a good backup on a slow day.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.