Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Demoiselle

Yesterday, Lilly (neighbor) said that I have been asked to photograph a wedding in two days. I thought about it for a few minutes and decided to turn the offer down, as I am not a wedding photographer, I don't have the multi flash and reflector equipment which I would consider as essential and finally, I don't need the stress.

I went around to Lilly's to give the bad news, but it turns out that it is not a wedding, but a children's party. They had seen me taking photos at a wedding not so long ago and wondered if I would be interested. Well, this is a bit different, no stress and no need for the gear, the 28-85 should do fine. Knee pads for getting down low, it will just be like a normal safari only a lot more fun. Might even get paid, but I would happily do this for free.

Identification - Vestalis luctuosa - Demoiselle.

As you can see from other blips today and yesterday, this particular damsel fly has worldwide distribution, which is most unusual. This means that it must be near perfect in its coloration and form for at least 65M years, as that was when South America, Antarctica and Australia were all joined together.

It is the largest of the damsels that I see. Photographic opportunities are rare, as it rarely leaves the water's edge, which at this location is inaccessible. With large, paddle shaped wings and a wingspan of around 3 inches, its flight is slow and lumbering. You would think that it couldn't possibly catch an alert, nimble little fly. I have seen it hunt and it is just silly how easy it catches its prey. It is a perfect killing machine.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.