Mono-Monday: "Electric" - Drill Motor

There's quite a wide ramge of possibilities on this topic of "Electric".

My trusty electric drill gave up the ghost recently, after 35 years of valiant & reliable service (I thought it was probably a bit late to claim on the guarantee!). So this seemed a good opportunity to open it up and take my blip. For the uninitiated (which included my Editor as I had to tell her what the various bit were!) you can see the commutator in the foreground, with one of the brushes against it, and some of the wire windings of the rotor (or "armature") in the background. It's got a fair bit of dust and grime on it after 35 years :)

Many thanks to TheAphid for boldly taking on the challenge of supervising Mono-Monday this month - hope you enjoy doing it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.