Incredibish

By Incredibish

Mono Monday Challenge : Electricity

I've seen electricity. It's blue. And noisy. And makes what little hair I have stand on end... I'm much happier, generally, when I can't see it.

Four months ago, for me, electricity gently subsided from 400,000 volts to 230. 230 volts will still kill you, of course, but 400,000 will leap three metres to get to you.  On the other hand, we cannot do much without electricity nowadays. In December 2013 I had installed a 4kWp solar roof, and today the generation meter reads 6164 (kWh). That's more than six mega-Watt-hours.

The installation has halted not only our electricity consumption but also our gas use! The excess power now heats our hot water tank rather than feeding the local grid network, and so the gas boiler has little to do. The £6k cost of the installation will have been repaid within six years, and the Feed In Tariff is fixed for twenty. It was a good investment as well as environmentally sensible.

A busy day of packing and an early night for a stupid o'clock start, and there may be back blips for a while, when Happy_Janwen and I get back from Sweden with SmileyCharlie. Be good, or if you can't be good at least stay away from the HV...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.