Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Letters from Daddy

One of my goals for this summer : I brought a small bunch of old letters up here to the cabin to go thru when I have this time to myself (so my kids won’t have to) and had to laugh at the typed letters my Dad sent to me at girl scout camp in 1952.   I LOVED camp, but also loved getting letters from home, from Perky the parakeet, Pete the cat, Butch the dog , Kingfish the fish and even our car (Buick)   Somewhere I have more of these, typed on toilet paper!  My Dad was very funny and I was the apple of his eye.   So.... next I started looking at the old slides I've recently had digitally scanned (with Scancafe.com)  to see if I could find some from this era… these are my parents old slides.    I’m going to archive just 4 right now but will do more later….Not sure how to connect these….will put a short description on the blip.  Haven't edited any of the slides. :-)
The letters do make me think.  what will our grandchildren have?  emails ?  texts?  

Mother’s worst photographs…1952.    I did a series of paintings once of My Mom’s worst photos - but this made me laugh out loud - it would be a really good candidate.    My Dad and me at girl scout camp on parents visiting day July 1952, the year he sent those letters.  I was 11.  We had to wear our “uniforms” for visitors Day.  Could Mom have placed that branch any better????  a "mother's worst photograph postcard HERE

Christmas 1951 With my Dad and Butch the dog,    Same era.   can see the bright and shiny faces here:-)

MY silly Dad at his parents summer place in Budd Lake NJ. 1948.   

His parents, my Swedish grandparents, at Budd Lake…1948.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.