Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Swedish Humor?????

The weekly blip challenge is “Humor” or “Humour”, depending where you are.    I often find something funny on the street but this week NOT so much.   :-)   So hubby H suggested the book “Scandinavian Humor & other Myths” which has 2 very dour looking old ladies on the cover.  I think Swedes have the (ill deserved!) reputation of having no sense of humor.  But I’m afraid I gave that book away in one of my bookshelf purges. (It wasn’t all that funny!)  H, (who is 1/2 Swede, and 1/2 Scot -are Scots funnier?) often laughs at (with) me, saying “That’s pretty funny, for a Swede”    So as we were talking about our Swedish parents. it was his idea to blip this old postcard of an old painting of mine..  My mother, bless her,  took lots of photos not all of which were wonderful so I painted from a few of her photos.  (This one was oil on paper, 41” x 38”, 1981.  Someone else owns it.)  The 2 small wooden carved figures are,  on the left,  “Old King Gustav V, the Present King’s Grandfather”  and the “Founder of the Swedish Radio network” on the right, inherited from H’s Swedish Aunt. (along with many other Swedish treasures..) -they could be an example of 2 more people that look not so fun.    I could go into all the dark Scandinavian humor or the Ole and Lena jokes but I won't.   Humor, in whatever form you like, is essential to life .  Laughing is good for you!  I hope this at least makes you smile.

Shoot, I forgot to crop the thumbnail and I see one can't go back to do it. :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.