Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Screw it

This is half of the driving mechanism of the St Ives Lifeboat, or in marine speak, the port Screw. The mechanic asked me to wait a day or 2 to do this shot as the boat has been in the water for a few hours dealing with a catamaran that ran aground and the normal shiny brass is a bit dull today but I've been so busy I have no better pics. I will go back in a few days and blip how much better he has made it though :)

I've had this idea in mind for a bit as this is a picture that will soon disappear into history. In 2014 we get a replacement lifeboat called the Shannon Class and it will be driven by impellers so the big brass screw is becoming an antique. I'm all for progress but there is a few hundred years history in the big propeller so I also have a hint of sadness at its passing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.