Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

New Crutches

These were delivered this morning while Nicola (undercovercairo) was out and I was getting dressed. I had to shout out to get the delivery man to wait and wait he did for 5 mins. Then he kindly carried them into the house for me. No choice really as I was handless on my old type crutches, the kind that just come up past your elbows and are really hard work.

Nicola came back, then Alistair came to visit. Together, they got the crutches out and to the right height. What a difference! I still have to go slowly, but I can lean on these and have my hands free and they feel steadier. Still a bit sore on my good leg, but better. I'm getting a used to carrying a bag round my neck with my mobiles and use it to carry light things too from one room to another.

Nicola left for the airport, having set me up with a clothes supply downstairs for the next week and other bits and bobs like watering the patio and balcony plants. As she was leaving, Nigel and Mireia arrived. More kindness, biscuits, coffee and company. Nigel topped up up the air bed and Mireia got me some DVDs through.

In alone tonight, but fine, and just had a catch up call with Philippa, my friend and co-tutor this month. Course all going fine. It's such a shame as we always look forward to working together in August.

My stomach's starting to look like a clock with the little bruises round my belly button from the injections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.