Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

A Long Day

I was told this morning when I called to make the appointment with the Dr I'd been assigned to that he had nothing free till October! I had to see someone this week I'd been told. I decided to be very Spanish about it (after a bit of a quivering lip!) and 'presented myself' again at 'urgencias' to see what they could do. Caroline took me by car. After a wee while I was told that said Dr could see me right now! Off we went. Caroline's getting better with the wheelchair, although I still remind her not to go down the stairs whenever a set presents itself - just in case! Two hours later I was seen. Poor Caroline, but she didn't complain and said she'd put the day aside for this. He talked for 10 mins about Scotland, independence, Cataluña, independence, glanced at my X-ray on the screen, looked at the colour of my toes and said that the colour was fine, circulation fine and sent me off for a scan...another 45 minutes. I return in two weeks with the scan and if it's all ok, then a smaller plaster for another 3 weeks. I need to keep injecting myself every day - still not pleasant, but I know how to do it now and the bruises on my stomach are pretty impressive. I can't put weight on the foot for another two weeks.

We then had a well-deserved lunch in the 'posh restaurant, in the hospital (easier than parking somewhere else): white tablecloths, waiter service and good food. If you didn't know it were a hospital, with the city views, garden and water features, you might think you were in a hotel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.