don376

By don376

Wolf Hall!

Fabulous Historical series first shown on BBC television in February 2015. Brings to life all the glamour, romance, treachery & intrigue of life in Henry VIII's court.  Recently bought it on DVD and am enjoying it more now I can stop/start, rewind etc to enjoy the complex plot.  I can honestly say that I really disliked history at school - it was so dry and boring with all the dates and names etc. and skipped over the juicy bits! Thank goodness we are now blessed with some amazing, modern day historians who really want to tell the whole story, warts & all!  Just look at the powerful faces of Damian Lewis (one of my all time favourite actors) as a very sinister and scary Henry VIII and also the face of Mark Rylance as Thomas Cromwell (the son of a humble blacksmith who became King Henry VIII's chief minister, as he navigated the corridors of power in the Tudor court).  First time around I just couldn't work out if he deliberately calculated his rise to the top or it just happened.  Second time around I am still not so sure - he too is a remarkable actor as are the rest of the cast. Highly recommended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.