JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Light & Shade in the Lillie Store Room

This shows a detail from Joan Eardley's epic Flood Tide painting.
I spied it in the store room of my local art gallery, the Lillie in Milngavie, when I went in to have a peek at a newly-commissioned painting before it's unveiled to the public in a few weeks time.
Can't say much about the mystery picture at the moment or I'd have to shoot you all.
I CAN tell you it's by a very well-known Scottish artist and it's a belter!
Will Blip it when it's unveiled on Monday 24th August... but in the meantime, feast your eyes upon this Joan Eardley brushwork!
The Lillie's store room is a veritable treasure trove of Scottish art gems.
Peter and Andrea gave me and my PA (aka my Spun Gold Girl) a quick tour of East Dunbartonshire Council's impressive art collection while I was in to inspect the new portrait.
The Lillie has a jaw-dropping collection of Joan Eardley work. Several of the paintings are out on loan to an exhibition in Clydebank Town Hall (which I Blipped here a few weeks ago), but my favourite Eardley work, Flood Tide is still in the store.
I've Blipped Flood Tide before.
I quickly snapped a detail from it on my phone and it has an odd shadow running down the right hand side. Still worth Blipping, I thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.