JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Art Springs Eternal at Waverley Station

To Edinburgh. Mainly for Fringe fun with my daughter but literally as we were running out the door I had a phone call from BBC Radio 4's Front Row programme asking if I'd review a new exhibition at The Queen's Gallery at Holyroodhouse.
Daughter not over-impressed as it cut down on shopping time. It's also the second day in a row I've dragged her to a gallery when I was working. Still... she'll thank me one day!
We passed this newly-commissioned artwork for Edinburgh Art Festival as we hurried out of Waverley Station.
It's by an artist called Charles Avery and it's called Tree no.5 (from the Jadindagadendar).
It's Avery's first public sculpture and the latest artwork to emerge from a lifelong project called The Islanders. An ever-expanding picture of an imaginary island inhabited by foreign-yet-familiar people, one has to imagine Avery has drawn on his own upbringing on the island of Mull.
Have to confess I've never seen a tree like this on Mull. Quite a nice sight to behold though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.