Plus ça change...

By SooB

Dried

A day for feeling a bit desiccated.  Rubbish night's sleep inspired by the 752 bites inflicted on me during yesterday's work.  All my own fault for not wearing gloves - but let me just say that having bites between each finger and all over your hands and forearms does not make for a comfortable experience when your airless bedroom is about 40 degrees.  Despite podcasts of the most dull subjects imaginable, I couldn't get back to sleep and eventually got up at half six.  

TallGirl was off earlyish (well, early for us this holiday) to riding camp for a couple of days, so I ferried her up there, then wandered the hoover around the house a bit until it was time to go into town to pick up CarbBoy's sleepover pal.  Some market and bread shopping and home.  And that, aside from meals, was all I really saw of them all day.  Between devices, the telly and the computer (and a scary sounding screaming gun game upstairs that I chose to stay out of) they seemed to amuse themselves.

Several neighbour boys showed up too, and even a boy I'd never met before who was possibly someone's cousin (?).  I think they come because our house is cooler than the other houses, and I'm fairly free and easy with fizzy drinks and snacks.  

After dinner I mostly wandered around like a mournful labrador who knows one of the family is missing (happily I don't do this when just Mr B is away or it would be practically a full time occupation).  Hopefully TallGirl will turn out to be an awful teenager so by the time she leaves home I'll be glad to see the back of her.  Somehow I doubt it though.  Three baskets of ironing and lots of podcasts distracted me from the missing folk, while the boys howled and giggled their way through a series of minecraft deaths.

Finally I have turfed them off to bed, and will very shortly be following them.  Long day.  Hottest yet too I think.  I couldn't understand why the birds weren't making use of the lovely bird bath I hung for them... until I went out and felt the temperature of the water.  If it's this hot tomorrow I'll put some ice cubes in for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.