Plus ça change...

By SooB

CarbBoy reloaded?

CarbBoy has gone off chips.  It's a bit of a shocker.  Over dinner we were debating what to rename him as: MeatBoy sounds wrong, TallGirl's suggestion of VegBoy was laughed off the table, so the best we had was just Boy.

Then I persuaded them that watching the Great British Bake Off would be a fun family entertainment.  Carb/WhateverBoy wasn't convinced - until the Black Forest Gateau segment.  Now I don't much like Black Forest Gateau - having been subjected to the Co-op frozen kind (barely defrosted) too many times as a child, but it includes all his favourite things (now chips are off the list).  I have promised him we will make one, though I had to point out that in my mind it does not include elegant chocolate trees or elephants. I fear he may be disappointed...

In other news, I picked a good day to listen to Test Match Special for the first time in (almost) decades.  My Granddad used to listen to it lots, and I picked up a taste for it as an old teenager/young twenty something.  It was just the thing that soundtracked occasional weekends.  But MrB is not a fan and I fell out of the habit.  Anyway, a good day to restart the habit!  (Also a good day to drop a quick line to my Australian cousin who never hesitates to point out the reverse result to me...)

TallGirl had a fine time at riding and has spent the evening researching 'bad back' on the internet.  I wasn't popular for pointing out that if she did some exercise she would be less sore when she did riding.

And our builder (singular) will be back soon.  His pal had a very serious sounding accident on a building site last week.  In those circumstances, I mind less that our terrace will be delayed.  Gives me more time for gateaux making anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.