Plus ça change...

By SooB

Lazy flowers

These were one of the first things I planted in our new house, and it is only now that I've given up on them, stopped top-dressing them, nurturing and watering them that they have finally reluctantly burst into bloom.  They've earned themselves a reprieve I think.

Super hot and stuffy day today.  Speaking of lazy flowers, TallGirl has been suffering from a bad back that prevented her from helping me with the shopping or cleaning out the goldfish tank.  Somehow it didn't prevent her from contorting herself into all sorts of odd upside shapes on the sofa as she watched her iPad.  I think the heat may have made me a little grumpy with her this evening. 

The only one of us really entitled to feel grumpy is MrB who, after a week slogging away at the coal face of management consultancy (yeah, yeah, I know) was looking forward to a simple journey home... But was instead faced with two flat tyres on the car.  Sadly I was a little too 'rehydrated' to run the gauntlet of the Friday night gendarmes in town, so he will hire a car or get a taxi.  Funny, I was just thinking today, as the Saab did its usual alarming exhaust clunk on turning right, that we were in a fairly good position car-wise.  The only saving grace is that we have a subscription at the airport carpark so at least leaving the car there isn't costing us anything extra.

Mr B, generous soul that he is, is blaming himself for having evidently driven over something sharp (both flats on the same side), whereas I immediately suspect that the tyres have been slashed.  I'm not really a very trusting person, I think.  Though in my defence this is based on experience: the only other time we've had two flats was when we unknowingly parked a hire car in the local drug-lord's parking space in Wandsworth.  I mean really - the Council should paint a warning on the road or something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.