Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

A Day at Home

I had an enforced day at home watching paint dry, as we were having the communal areas of our block re-decorated and the chaps needed to have my front door propped open for hours on end after glossing it.

Having been woken up during the night with back pain for a couple of weeks now, I've been feeling a bit tired lately.  With no urgent things to get done, I took the opportunity to indulge in a much-needed day of doing nothing in particular other than meditating and falling asleep in the armchair.  Not much good for my back, but the rest of my body certainly needed it.  I shall be glad to get out and about tomorrow, though.

There's an advert showing on TV at the moment (for "the world's first immersive computer and fully-integrated desktop 3D scanner") which uses some very poignant, and sadly often true, lyrics from The Logical Song by Supertramp:-

When I was young, it seemed that life was so wonderful,
A miracle, oh it was beautiful, magical.
And all the birds in the trees, well they'd be singing so happily,
Joyfully, playfully watching me.
But then they sent me away to teach me how to be sensible,
Logical, responsible, practical.
And they showed me a world where I could be so dependable,
Clinical, intellectual, cynical.

How lovely it would be to regain that child's eye view of a world full of wonder and magic.  Can we, as our adult selves, ever truly return to it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.