Batik

21.0C starting dullish then cloudy but bright through the morning, clearing through the afternoon with sunny spells and patches of blue sky. Warm. Light breeze..

Maeve the Deerhound was in her garden all day.

I went for a walk after lunch. Jean Michel Jarre's Oxygene on the Nano ... again. I went up to the church then continued out along the country road to Scryne. I turned right at Craigmill farm and went down the track to the shore road. I came back along the cycle path and carried on round in a long loop heading into Carnoustie and up the main road before turning along for home.

I went out to see Maeve when I came home. She was happy to stay outside and be mostly snoozing.

I am glad that Abstract Thursday is continuing, albeit without so much direct input from youoregon1. Perhaps it is continuing as an abstract version of its former self and that would be no bad thing. For today's abstract I have taken up a suggestion by Apothecary7 to blip something from one of the Batiks which I made while trying out techniques during a weekend workshop we went to in Strontian a few years ago. I used traditional tools to create wax resist and worked with bright dyes. The last technique was to coat the whole piece in wax then scrunch it up to create cracks before dipping in dark blue dye. Once the fabric is dry the wax is ironed out using old newspaper to soak it away from the fabric.
.
DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/400 sec. ISO-80 10mm (35mm focal length 59mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.