Benefits of Overseeding

These gorgeous but stressed nasturtiums are growing in a small (too small) container. I just had a handful of saved seeds from last year. I patted all 40 of them into the container with parsley seeds at the corners.
Everything sprouted and grew. Then the poor flowers have been attacked by the japanese beetles that are eating a large part of the garden this year.
Here they are in the sun, still enjoy their summer holiday. I threw the beetles off furst.
The extra photo is of the overly planted and sprouted Holy Basil (tulsi) seedlings. There were  few hundred mystery seeds at the bottom of a tray in my seeds saving area. I just planted them in a seed starting tray and alas, all of them sprouted. I have transplanted about 50 into larger pots that I can take inside this winter. I still have another 70 or so little seedling in the tray. They need a home. I cannot start a new bed for them but I thin I have cleared some space in a raised bed where I recently harvested white potatoes. This lovely fragrant, non-culinary basil is not hardy here. The leaves do make a soothing herbal tea however.
Anyway this seems to be a year when every thing (except tomatoes) is thriving. I still have quite a lot of unidentified and identified seeds that need sorting.
And many pounds of green runner beans to pick.
Ah, summer days... there's nothing like them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.