London Transport

L92 is a visiting engine at the Kent & East Sussex and I was really pleased to get this shot. 

I was due to have a check-up at the surgery this morning but when I got in the car I found that I couldn't turn the steering wheel. I managed to get a little way up the lane but it wasn't getting any better so I pulled over and gave Tony a ring (I also rang to cancel the appointment - a little courtesy which the receptionist suggested that many do not extend when they can't make an appointment). Obviously I thought that this was likely to be an expensive problem but Tony found a loose plug (or something) and everything was sorted - phew!

Then it was tricky leaving the house because of the Test match. Anyone interested in cricket will know that this morning was a blistering session in which England skittled  Australia out for 60; another compelling game and hard to leave. In the end I took my DAB wireless with me and it was on the passenger seat as I set out to do some errands and find blippage for you.

I last saw this engine some hundreds of miles away - it was at Buckfastleigh when I visited the South Devon a couple of years ago. I've also seen it on a low-loader on the M25. It was built in 1929 by GWR and was used on the Metropolitan Line by London Transport from 1956 until 1971 - it didn't pull passenger trains but was used by the works department. Today it was one of very few engines with any connection to the London underground which was actually moving............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.