A collectors treasures.

Neil had a day off today and he went off to play golf.  So my new bed remains in its box.  However I'm not particularly bothered as I had a good nights sleep on the mattress on the floor. No different to sleeping in a bed really. 

Stayed at home today and made a start sorting through the stuff in the back bedroom.  Didn't make much headway as I kept getting sidetracked.

Thought I would blip a few of the " treasures " I found.  My late husband Douglas was a great collector. All sorts of stuff including football programmes, rugby programmes, cigarette and trade cards, stamps, first day covers, playing cards - to name but a few.

In my blip you can see a tin of pen nibs, an album of Dan Dare cards, some jam pot lids with images of famous footballers and a page of a postcard album. 

The postcard shows Gert and Daisy who were  two characters of a comedy act who are particularly remembered for their contribution to film and radio entertainment during World War 2. They were stalwarts of the BBC radio variety programme Workers Playtime.. The characters of Gert and Daisy were played by Florence Elsie Waters and Doris Waters who were sisters of Horace John Waters better known as Jack Warner of Dixon of Dock Green.  Elsie and Doris were awarded OBE's in the King's Birthday Honours List in 1946.

Steps today - only 4.465

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.