A Cornish beach at sunset

It took me ages to get ready to leave this morning for our trip to Cornwall, but we got there in the end.  The journey seemed to be fated with hold-ups although none of them were too lengthy.  As we headed further south the sky began to become increasingly blue and brighter which boded well.

The damaged ligament in my leg hurt whilst driving which didn't do it much good.  Hopefully now we are properly on holiday I can let it rest and only move carefully, mostly towards the beach.  Once we had unpacked the car, we had a cup of tea and then strolled the short distance to the wonderful beach at Polzeath, which is where we are staying for ten days. A very kind and wonderful blip friend, Herbsusan, is letting us stay once again in their holiday home here and it feels great.

The tide was right out which meant that we could walk several hundred yards from the back of the wide sandy beach to the frontline of the surf.  I am not an aficionado of wave culture, and find the sea rather too cold in Europe, but Helena is sure to don her new wetsuit, pick up a funboard and join the throng.

I like to take pictures and tonight I had a short period of time to practice before I headed back to the fish and chip shop to buy our supper.  The sun was still reasonably high at 7-30pm as I looked out to sea and into the light, which meant that there was a lot of shadow about.  I liked the effect of the backlight on this surfer's wake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.