Morris drumming at his wife's party

I've now changed the blip image.  The original one of Morris is now added as another 'Extra photo'.

I had a lovely afternoon down in Bath with Helena and we both loved having a full day of sun shining on us.  We went for a walk at Dyrham Park which we visited last year and where I went last Monday in search of deer to photograph. 

I had the same intention today but it was harder to find them.  We kept away from the large crowds visiting there by walking up the hillside and spending some quiet time on the grass near a copse just enjoying the peace of the countryside.  After a while I went looking for the male deer, the ones with antlers, and after some gentle stalking I came across the herd slowly grazing whilst moving across the slopes.  A lot of pictures resulted but I haven't even looked at them yet.

I had to get home to feed Bomble of course, and then I cooked my supper before heading to a special party.  We had been invited by a school colleague of Helena's to her big anniversary party and although I don't know her well I am obliquely linked to her husband Morris.  He is a drummer and has played for many years with Robyn Hitchcock in various of his backing bands including the Soft Boys, and the Egyptians.  He also appeared as the drummer at Robyn's 60th birthday gig which I blipped here.

Also playing tonight was the guitarist Kimberley Rew, who also featured at that gig having been a long term member of Robyn's bands as well.  Tonight they gathered to play for Morris' wife Sheila in a large barn close to the nearby village of Chalford. I don't know the other players from tonight, but they all seemed to enjoy themselves playing many old classics, and it was very infectious. I have added an 'Extra photo' of tonight's band line-up, although various people joined in for certain songs.  A good time was had by all.  

My big camera has been playing up so I used the little camera which I took on my trip to Sri Lanka.  Yet again it was a delight to use especially in the low and very varied light tonight. But not having a zoom makes getting a shot of the drummer at the back of the stage a bit problematic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.