CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

35006 leaving Winchcombe

I felt like indulging a whim this morning and when I chatted with Helena on the phone (she is still staying in Bath) she encouraged me. So after doing some chores, I set off just before midday to drive to the north of Gloucestershire to visit the Gloucester Warwickshire Steam Railway. I'd heard that the rather special steam engine 35006, named 'Peninsular & Oriental Steam Navigation Company', (one of the 30 Merchant Navy class Pacific locomotives designed by Bulleid, and built in 1941) would be the engine pulling this heritage railway's trains for the next few days, prior to being rested again.

It was completely rebuilt from a wreck in the GWR's works , a job that took nearly 25 years. I remember watching exactly these types of engines on the local Southern Region railway in the 1950s and 60s before they were withdrawn along with all other steam engines.

I had located a spot on the map which looked like a good place to take photos, where the engine leaves a 600 yard tunnel just before entering Winchcombe station. When I got there I parked in the station and walked along a footpath and was pleased to find my plan would work. I had a few minutes to wait which was e=very enjoyable as the line passes through some idyllic Cotswold landscapes and this was no exception.

Once the train arrived, a bit too slowly for my liking as there wasn't a lot of smoke or steam in views, it halted for quite a few minutes in the station.  I'd walked back there as soon as it passed me and had enough time to reach the end of the platform to photograph it standing prior to it eventually heading off to its final destination at Toddington. I've blipped that departure, but have also added two 'Extra photos' of it leaving the tunnel and in the station. If you look carefully at the stationary goods van in the siding behind the engine in the second 'Extra' you might spot that writing indicating it is the 'Gunpowder van', and marked with a big X!

I had a good chat with some other people who were also enjoying watching this fine beast of a machine.  The branch line it now works on is quite unlike its original role driving the high speed passenger trains on the main line express routes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.