FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Ride the Lightning

As the evening sun sank low in the sky I felt it's warmth on my face. The faint rhythmic monologue of the commentator echoed across from the grandstands and in the distance I could hear the race horses galloping towards us.

The cheers of the crowd grew ever louder and the atmosphere was electric as the horses crossed the finish line. I was thrilled that my horse Ride the Lightning came in second.

Mum and I celebrated my winnings with two glasses of Prosecco. It hardly mattered I'd only won a tenner, it was the excitement of taking part that mattered.

I'm currently working with The Jockey Club on a PR project promoting their conference, events and meetings facilities so tonight was a great opportunity to see how one of the 15 venues puts on an evening racing event.

It's been a few years since I last spent a day at the races and I hope to return again soon and perhaps another cheeky flutter...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.