Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Celebrations! (I know how to live it up!)

Congratulations to me! I've filled in that pensions form at last. My cunning plan to do everything else instead of that was inspired! I got SO much done. Cupboards cleaned out, shoes and clothes to the charity shop, piles of paperwork shredded, unused techie things put on Gumtree to sell, even bedroom windows washed (and they only get done every decade).

Actually, the form was not as onerous as I made out. It wasn't 20 pages, as in lots of them I was able to put N/A:
eg Do you want your communications in Welsh? (Why no Gaelic?)
Do you want your communications in Braille/Typetalk/Induction Loop/Sign Language?


I refrained from putting my hereditary title in the 'preferred title' box. And I searched out all my various reference numbers, codes, dates and certificates, although I could have ticked the no box to say I didn't have them and they would have had to look through their records and find them.

I washed the back bedroom windows. We got secondary glazing put in years ago, which is a complicated contraption that weighs a ton! It's almost impossible to lift it up on your own, and it took ALL my efforts to get it up to the highest setting (about shoulder height). Of course, the wonderful Edinburgh windows hinge inwards, so this makes it impossible to clean them. But I did hang out, with a long brush and cloth soaked in soapy water and managed to clean right up to the top. And soak myself at the same time.

I could also do part way up the bottom window. But guess what - there's about 30cm of window which is impossible to reach unless the windows are closed, and I'm completely on the outside. This will not happen. It's also extremely annoying. The cunning plan to camouflage it - net curtains (nicer than they sound) doesn't quite do the job, to those who know it's there.

But it's better than the big ice cream splodge that was there for years because I'd hung out the window and asked the brats children down below to kindly stop yelling all the time on their trampoline. At the time, my old dad was confined to that room. They disturbed me more than him, to be truthful, as he was fairly deaf. Of course, I couldn't prove it was them...

CBLinks was worried that I didn't have my scone yesterday, so I popped out to ceremoniously post the big official envelope and forced myself to nip in out of the drizzle and have a scone and a very passable flat white. Yum yum.

I feel there's something missing in my life now. In a nice way...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.