Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A cheery smile on a dreich day. From a cat.

It's a dreich day, so I'm not tempted to go out -even with the promise of a scone and coffee. No, don't worry, I'm not sickening for something. It's just that my jeans are getting a wee bit tight!

So I wandered round the flat, looking for a suitable indoor blip. I like Cabbagetree's kaleidoscope shots using her iPad, so I had fun with that for a while, noting the endless possibilities, but settled on this wee cat. My Uncle A gave it to, me years ago.

CeeCeeG's cat this morning reminded me of it - same manic expression! I know all you blippers love cats. Well, maybe not yellow cats. With hearts all over them.  

He's a Wemyss Cat, and Wemyss Ware is very collectible. The Griselda Hill (love that name!) Pottery is based in Ceres, in Fife. I see from their website that Elton John and the Queen collect it, and they've got impeccable taste. 

Also, I'm practising sending my blip from my iPad, which I'll probably have to do when in Oz. It has not be straightforward. More practice needed. I see that part of my emailed blurb didn't come in, so I'll add it now.

The other day, when I went into my Lounge in the City, the steward greeted me as I swept past him at the top of the stairs (making a beeline for the coffee machine), not with the usual, "Good morning, madam" but with

"Excuse me..."

Jings! I've been rumbled! They've noticed that I pop in rather more frequently than they had envisaged!

They're going to suggest that I limit my visits to once a week month!

They're going to suggest that I give them more of my money to look after if I intend to keep up this rate of visitations.


"Are you a professional photographer? I always see you with your camera"

Nice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.