Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another smiley faced yellow item. Is this a theme?

The grill part of the oven clapped out months ago. I was without cheese on toast. I like cheese on toast. I can make cheese on toast. I missed having it. What to do? Buy a whole new oven, or buy a convection/ microwave oven? The smaller convection oven seemed like a good idea, to save a few pennies on heating a whole oven for say, an M&S pie. So we bought a convection/microwave oven a few weeks ago. Actually, on the memorable day I also bought my new camera.

But last night (you can see where this is going, can't you...) the oven packed in. Kaput. It is a dead oven. So today we had to go and buy a new oven. When can it be delivered? Three weeks at the earliest!! So just as well, really, that we bought the convection oven and didn't have to have half frozen fish and chips for tea.

The poor house swappers will have to deal with this. Nothing we can do. We're worried about the complete and utter grubby mess that will be under the oven, and they will see it and think what awful people we are. But who cleans under their oven? But who has to have under their oven on view to visitors?

The day has not been quite as dreich as yesterday's non stop deluge. There are vast ponds in the Meadows that haven't been there since they drained the loch several centuries ago. But a quick pop into JL, via My Lounge in the City, and we had the new item, all glossy and clean and stainless steel. At least that's one horrible job I won't have to do before the house swappers come! Hehehe!

We walked through Multrees Walk, a shopping precint that aims to be quite posh but just misses. I think. It doesn't get the sun because of the high buildings (oh, and the fact that we don't get the sun anyway) and there's usually a cool breeze, even on a sunny day.

There is a cafe, with outdoor seating, all set out in the mizzle, hopefully. The only occupant was a headless crow. At least, that's what it looked like. I nearly used him for my blip today, but it's a bit scary. He was perched on the back of a stainless steel chair, and his claws weren't exactly gripping the perch, so it's a wonder he didn't slide off. His head was tucked away, so he looked as if he was a headless stuffed bird sitting in the rain. I took a photo and he looked up and glared at me, and I was quite spooked and forgot to take another photo. He flew off, but was very flappy and wobbly. Maybe he wasn't well. I'll put him in my blipfolio.

My blip today is yet another indoor one, involving a smiley face and a lot of yellow. We got the jug at a wee art gallery/cafe in Lauder (OK - the Flat Cat). And when we were in NZ a few years ago - there was the same jug. It turned out that the potter was a Kiwi. We went in there one time and the muzak was 'I'm Glad I'm not a Kennedy' by Shona Laing... so we KNEW there was a Kiwi connection. It's also got great cakes.

Lots more chores to be done, but maybe lots of sit downs and cuppas. I know! Cheese on toast for snacks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.